Chennai Mathematical Institute

Semester Schedule & Holidays


Exam schedule, Semester I, 2018–2019

end-semester exam schedule

Academic Calendar 2018–2019

August–December 2018
July 28 Convocation
August 3 Admissions for fresh entrants
August 6 Instruction starts
August 24 1 Deadline for course registration
September 24–28 Mid-semester examination
November 26–30 End-semester examination
December 1–January 1 Semester holidays
January–April 2019
January 2 Institute reopens, instruction starts
January 25 Deadline for course registration
February 25–March 1 Mid-semester examination
April 22–26 End-semester examination
April 27 Summer vacation begins

Important Notes

CMI follows a semester system. The BSc. programme has six semesters and the MSc. programme has four semesters. The duration of the odd semester is August to November and the even semester is from January to April. May, June, July and December are vacation period.

There are no mid-semester breaks.

All students must report on the reopening day of each semester and sign in the register kept in the office. Failure to do so, without prior sanction, will involve cancellation of stipend and tuition fee waiver for the entire semester.

Registration deadlines will be strictly enforced. No extension will be permitted.

List of Holidays 2018

January 1 Monday New Years Day
January 26 Friday Republic Day
March 30 Friday Good Friday
May 01 Tuesday May Day
August 15 Wednesday Independence Day
August 22 Wednesday Bakr-Id*
September 13 Thursday Vinayaka Chathurthi
October 2 Tuesday Gandhi Jayanthi
October 18 Thursday Ayudha Puja
November 06 Tuesday Deepavali
November 21 Wednesday Milad-un-Nabi
December 25 Tuesday Christmas
*Subject to change depending upon appearance of moon.

Note: Pongal falls on a Sunday and is hence not listed.