Chennai Mathematical Institute

Semester Schedule & Holidays


Academic Calendar 2022–2023

August–November 2022
July 23 Convocation
July 29 Admissions for fresh batches
August 1 Instruction starts
August 19 Deadline for course registration
September 26–1 October Mid-sem exams
November 21–25 End-sem exams (I BSc)
November 21–30 End-sem exams (all other batches)
January–May 2023
January 2 Instruction starts
January 20 Deadline for course registration
February 20–25 Mid-sem exams
April 24–28 End-sem exams(I BSc)
April 24–3 May End-sem exams (all other batches)
April 29/May 4 Summer vacation begins

Important Notes

CMI follows a semester system. The BSc. programme has six semesters and the MSc. programme has four semesters. The duration of the odd semester is August to November and the even semester is from January to April. May, June, July and December are vacation period.

There are no mid-semester breaks.

All students must report on the reopening day of each semester and sign in the register kept in the office.

List of Holidays 2022

January 14 Friday Pongal
January 26 Wednesday Republic Day
April 14 Thursday Dr Ambedkar Jayanti/Tamil New Year
April 15 Friday Good Friday
May 03 Tuesday Ramzaan*
August 09 Tuesday Muharram
August 15 Monday Independence Day
August 31 Wednesday Vinayaka Chaturthi
October 04 Tuesday Ayudha Puja
October 24 Monday Deepavali
*Subject to change depending upon appearance of moon.

Note: May Day – 1st May, Gandhi Jayanthi – 2nd October and Christmas – 25th December fall on weekends, and are hence not listed.