Chennai Mathematical Institute

Course Details

MSc Computer Science

Course Details

Core courses

The course work for the programme will consist of five categories, as follows.
(Click on the course names to get the syllabus for each course.)


The electives that have been offered at CMI in recent years include:


To earn an MSc, a student must complete the equivalent of 16 regular courses, normally over a period of four semesters. These 16 courses must include all five Core courses and a project/dissertation.

The project/dissertation is equivalent to four regular courses. At the discretion of the admissions committee, a student who has already completed any of the core courses as an undergraduate may substitute these courses by a suitable number of alternative courses to make up the overall course requirements.