Chennai Mathematical Institute

Semester Schedule & Holidays


Academic Calendar 2017–2018

August–December 2017
July 24 Convocation
August 4 Admissions for fresh entrants
August 7 Instruction starts
September 1 Deadline for course registration
September 25–29 Mid-semester examination
November 27–December 1 End-semester examination
December 2–January 1 Semester holidays
January–April 2018
January 2 Institute reopens, instruction starts
January 29 Deadline for course registration
February 19–23 Mid-semester examination
April 23–27 End-semester examination
April 28 Summer vacation begins

Important Notes

CMI follows a semester system. The BSc. programme has six semesters and the MSc. programme has four semesters. The duration of the odd semester is August to November and the even semester is from January to April. May, June, July and December are vacation period.

There are no mid-semester breaks.

All students must report on the reopening day of each semester and sign in the register kept in the office. Failure to do so, without prior sanction, will involve cancellation of stipend and tuition fee waiver for the entire semester.

Registration deadlines will be strictly enforced. No extension will be permitted.

List of Holidays 2017

January 26 Thursday Republic Day
April 14 Friday Good Friday/Tamil New Years Day/Ambedkar Jayanthi
May 01 Monday May Day
June 26 Monday Ramzan*
August 15 Tuesday Independence Day
August 25 Friday Vinayaka Chathurthi
September 29 Friday Ayudha Puja
October 2 Monday Gandhi Jayanthi
October 18 Wednesday Deepavali
December 1 Friday Milad-un-Nabi
December 25 Monday Christmas
*Subject to change depending upon appearance of moon.

P.S. New Year falls on a Sunday and Pongal falls on a Saturday and are hence not listed.





Google
Search WWW Search cmi.ac.in